Our Smart Freight Center Team

The Smart Freight Centre boasts a highly skilled team of 15 senior researchers hailing from four prestigious universities. This dedicated team is focused on conducting in-depth studies pertaining to the movement of goods in urban areas.

Leadership

Dr. Elkafi Hassini | Chair

McMaster University

Associate Dean of Research, DeGroote School of Business

hassini@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Peter Park | Vice Chair

York University

Professor & Chair, Civil Engineering, Lassonde School of Engineering

peter.park@lassonde.yorku.ca

Dr. Matthew Roorda | Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee

University of Toronto

Canada Research Chair in Freight Transportation and Logistics | Professor, Civil & Mineral Engineering

matt.roorda@utoronto.ca

Dr. Bilal Farooq

Toronto Metropolitan University

Canada Research Chair in Disruptive Transportation Technologies and Services | Associate Professor, TMU

bilal.farooq@torontomu.ca

Our Committees

Our Governance Committee holds the overarching responsibility for and oversight of the Smart Freight Centre and its research program, taking into account the advice and recommendations of the Scientific Advisory Committee.

Current Chair: Dr. Elkafi Hassini

The Governance Committee monitors and facilitates progress and deliverables, oversees budget and finances, and monitors efforts to enhance the sustainability of the SFC, among other responsibilities.

The Governance Committee consists of The Region of Peel, academic leaders, a representative of the host institution, the chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee, and other representatives chosen by the parties.

The chair of the Governance Committee rotates among the three universities.

Current Chair: Dr. Matthew Roorda

The Scientific Advisory Committee includes academic leaders and other members appointed by the Governance Committee. The Scientific Advisory Committee reports to the Governance Committee.

The Scientific Advisory Committee provides scientific leadership to the Smart Freight Centre research program, reviews and advises on research proposals received for the SFC program, oversees scheduling of deliverables and outcomes, ensures scientific integrity, and makes recommendations to the Governance Committee on various aspects of the research.

Faculty Affilliates

Dr. Jennifer Bauman

McMaster University

Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering

jennifer.bauman@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Merve Bodur

University of Toronto

Assistant Professor, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

bodur@mie.utoronto.ca

Dr. Birsen Donmez

University of Toronto

Professor, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

donmez@mie.utoronto.ca

Dr. Said Easa

Toronto Metropolitan University

Professor, Civil Engineering

seasa@torontomu.ca

Dr. Bilal Farooq

Toronto Metropolitan University

Associate Professor, Civil Engineering

bilal.farooq@torontomu.ca

Dr. Kevin Gingerich

York University

Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering

kging@yorku.ca

Dr. Elkafi Hassini

McMaster University

Associate Dean of Research, Professor of Operations Management, and Chair

hassini@mcmaster.ca

Dr. Marianne Hatzopoulou

University of Toronto

Professor, Civil & Mineral Engineering

marianne.hatzopoulou@utoronto.ca

Dr. Atefeh Mashatan

Toronto Metropolitan University

Assistant Professor, Information Technology Management

amashatan@torontomu.ca

Dr. Mehdi Nourinejad

York University

Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering

mehdi.nourinejad@lassonde.yorku.ca

Dr. Peter Park

York University

Associate Professor, Civil Engineering

peter.park@lassonde.yorku.ca

Dr. Saiedeh Razavi

McMaster University

Director of McMaster Institute for Transportation & Logistics Department of Civil Engineering | Associate Professor, Civil Engineering

razavi@mcmaster.ca

Matthew Roorda

University of Toronto

Canada Research Chair in Freight Transportation and Logistics | Professor, Civil & Mineral Engineering

matt.roorda@utoronto.ca

Dr. Sharareh Taghipour

Toronto Metropolitan University

Associate Professor, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

sharareh@torontomu.ca

Dr. Manish Verma

McMaster University

Associate Dean, Graduate Studies, and Professor of Operations Management

mverma@mcmaster.ca